Posted by: Darrell | September 1, 2008

Kansai Bound

 

View from the airplane of the mountains among the clouds

View from the airplane of the mountains among the clouds

So I am flying JAL from Haneda Airport (Tokyo) to Kansai International (Osaka) and I noticed that the flight is only 30-40% full. Honestly, every person had a row to themselves, me included. I guess it is true that the Japanese do not fly JAL domestically. The flight just took off and I had just started some anime, then the seatbelt lights come on and then we were landing in 15 minutes. The flight was only about 30-40 mins. Every single flight that I have taken so far has been delayed upon departure, but always seems to arrive early. Either JAL is under promising and over delivering or they are flying on super punctual Japanese time.

Kansai International Airport

Kansai International Airport

Kansai International Airport is super nice and very beautifully designed. Although I had to wait 2.5 hours for the next Charter Bus to take us to the school, I had more than enough time to explore the entire airport. The bus ride was about 2 hours and it passed through Osaka which provided great views of the city, although I don’t think I will have much time to travel there during orientation.

The first thing I noticed about Hirakata City (where Kansai Gaidai is located) is that it is not an overly beautiful city. The area around the school is very nice, clean and scenic, but Hirakata city centre wasn’t quite as nice as Takasaki. I have some great roommates, and the futon is quite comfortable and cosy. Moreover, the University is absolutely amazing; 10 times nicer than ghetto SFU. I have been neglecting my camera lately so I don’t have quite a selection of pictures to choose from, but enjoy!

Kansai Gaidai University Administration Building

Kansai Gaidai University Administration Building

The orientation week will be super hectic and busy, so I will try to recap the entire week in a single post. Don’t forget to leave a comment!


Responses

  1. Good luck Darrell! Best of luck to you!

  2. You probably have the better approach to blogging orientation week. I’ve had 3-4 mainly boring posts so far; oops.

  3. I want to go to… 😦

  4. That was me complaining.

  5. Nice picture of the volcano there! I wonder if that’s Mt. Fuji. Although, even in this heat, Mt. Fuji should still have snow on the top, methinks!

  6. take more pictures please mr angai =)


Leave a comment

Categories