Posted by: Darrell | August 28, 2008

Tokyo Exploring

So while waiting for Ben to finish work, I had the entire day to explore Tokyo on my own. After my breakfast at McDonald’s, I wandered to the train station and attempted my first utilization of the complex transit system in Japan. I started my adventure on the Chiyoda line and headed to Hibiya. There I transfered to the Hibiya line, heading on towards Akihabara.

Yodobashi-Akiba in Akihabara

Yodobashi-Akiba in Akihabara

Akihabara is known as the electronics capital of Japan. Anything you could ever want and need is located there, often at very good prices if you look hard enough. The Yodobashi-Akiba department store had 6 floors of nothing but electronics from music players, cell phones to anime and watches. The prices weren’t all that great; however, it is a large landmark in Akihabara and right beside the subway station. I then headed off to discover the rest of Akihabara, but at 10AM in the morning nearly nothing was open. I then took the Hibiya line again to Tsukiji.

Tsukiji is most famous for it’s wholesale fish market where at 5AM in the morning, you can see all the fresh fish coming into the docks ready to be auctioned off to all the haute restaurants all over Japan. I got there around 11:30AM, so I had missed the fish auction; however, I still decided to have lunch and try out the fresh fish available. Following a satisfying lunch I headed on to Ginza.

Mitsukoshi Department Store in Ginza

Mitsukoshi Department Store in Ginza

Ginza is the centre of fashion in Tokyo. Upon arrival, I saw more beautiful girls than you would ever find in any of the clubs in Vancouver on a Friday or Saturday night. And the women were absolutely stunning and carried themselves very well unlike like some of the undesirables you also find in the Vancouver clubs. Right out of the subway station I saw the stores for Dior, Giorgio Armani, Coach, Prada, Gucci. This is not including all of the department stores holding all of those brands and so much more. The department stores are so large and contain almost everything including my favourite; two whole floors of nothing but food!! Everything I wanted to eat, I bought. Japan is amazing for food and I have ate everything that caught my eye.

Selection of sweets in the department stores in Ginza

Selection of sweets in the department stores in Ginza

I then had about 2 hours to kill so I explored Hibiya and Akasaka. Both places are interesting but not quite as cool as Ginza. Akasaka is an upscale area where almost all of the cars were all dark tinted, slammed, luxury sedans riding on blades. The Lexus LS Hybrid is super popular and it seems like they are everywhere in Japan, although Toyota and Honda have so many more cooler models than they do in North America. I will be doing a blog strictly on the cars of Japan on all of the cars I have photographed. I am always expecting drifters to come screaming down the next corner in Japan; however, they are rarely seen and rarely heard.

I will also be doing a entry reviewing some of the interesting beers of Japan. There are also types of beer called Happoshu which are beers containing less than 60% hops and thus qualifying for less taxes and consequently cheaper for the consumers. Predictably they are much drier and have a less robust taste and flavour, but still great nonetheless. Although beer in Japan isn’t all that expensive altogether.

Hibiya Park in Hibiya

Hibiya Park in Hibiya

The plan for tomorrow is to take a drive around the Gunma Prefecture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Akasaka Rain

The heavy rains in Akasaka

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tsukiji Market

Tsukiji Fish Market with lines to the freshest sushi restaurants

Responses

  1. “I will also be doing a entry reviewing some of the interesting beer of Japan.” – is this Japanese for “I’m on my way to become an alcoholic…. wait… I think I already am”?

    “Ivan, you should try the whole bathing thing the morning after, probably not as nice as some of your clients! Hows the branch?”

    I did, however I forgot to lock the door in the girl’s washroom…. let’s just say my employment with the Bank is somewhat uncertain at the moment.

    All is well at the branch. A little short staffed but that keeps us busy which I enjoy. Much better than being bored and doing something useless like reading blogs 🙂 Almost at 100 SR pace.

  2. I wish I was there with you exploring and devouring everything in sight. mMmmm… ramen, kobe beef, Fugu, BEER!


Leave a Reply

Categories

